Fall Tour 2016: Day 2

Stop over in Philly at Jack’s, I have the 3rd floor studio.

20160914_falltour03

20160914_falltour02

For breakfast Jack makes espresso, Zach makes an omelette. After breakfast, Jack heads out to Trader Joe’s. I check email, update the blog, drag my gear up to the studio, set up. Jack is expecting some people to show up in the afternoon. I check out a minimal patch using only a contact mic, (2) Swoops, and (2) Fourses. There’re a lot of sounds available using just (4) modules (and the mixer).

20160914_falltour05

Ben Bennett shows up at 5pm, we hang in the kitchen for awhile, drink beer, then play for an hour or so in the studio. It’s a challenge. I have enough sounds available but no way to jump around fast enough to keep up with Zach and Ben, and to go silent. I’m thinking this is due to a couple of things. First, touch-sensitive control, I have only (1) contact mic, and second I need some VCAs. These are the obvious next steps in developing the AVSynth. Tomorrow I get to include video. We’ll see how that goes!

Ben and Jack take off around 8pm. I return to the studio, experiment with the patch.

It sounds like this.

It’s very hot and muggy, Zach and I turn in around 10pm.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

